Geloof ons niet op ons woord, lees onze beoordelingen...

We nemen de feedback en ervaringen van onze gasten heel serieus. In de afgelopen 20 jaar hebben we een aantal fantastische families ontmoet die elk jaar terug blijven komen. Hier zijn een paar van de aardige dingen die ze te zeggen hadden over hun gezinsvakantie op Château de Gurat.

Helen W
Helen W
2023-11-05
Verified
A wonderful holiday We had a wonderful 2 week holiday at Chateau de Gurat. The facilities were perfect for families with young children and the owners were lovely and very accommodating. We spent hours in the pool especially in the week when it was really hot and the kids used the play barn, sandpit and trampoline constantly. As the grounds are enclosed, it felt safe to let the kids roam about which was great. We also really enjoyed the pizza evenings and the chance to get to meet the other parents!
Emily M
Emily M
2023-09-20
Verified
Absolutely brilliant - recommending it to all of our friends! We all had a fantastic time - best family holiday we've had! The set up is perfect for families with young children who are ready for a bit of independence within safe limits. The play barn, sandpit, playground and pool were a big hit with our girls (aged 3 and 6) and we were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful setting. It's also a great location for exploring other sites if we could drag the children away! Edward and Swantje are perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back!
Hugh J
Hugh J
2023-09-18
Verified
Utterly lovely We had an incredibly restorative holiday. Perfect for children running around and parents who want to try and read a book. A very safe place for children to be on their own but with lots of things to do.
Jules S
Jules S
2023-08-31
Verified
A fantastic stay with young children at beautiful Chateau de Gurat Chateau de Gurat is in an idyllic spot and offers a fantastic set-up for young families. We went with two kids aged 3 and 6 and both absolutely loved it. The pool is a great size and play barn and playground provided hours of entertainment. Our gite, Le Coin Fleuri, was lovely - very clean and comfortable, with pretty private patio area, great beds and lovely views from the upstairs bedrooms. Pizza and wine tasting nights were also enjoyed by the adults! The location is definitely very rural, but we did a number of super day trips to pretty local towns and the river beach - all between a 20-40 min drive from the chateau. Thank you to Edward and Swantje for a great stay and wonderful hosting. We hope to be back!
Alexandra R
Alexandra R
2023-08-26
Verified
The perfect family getaway! What a fantastic find! Edward and Swantje have created the perfect setting for a wonderful family holiday with young children. From the information provided in advance, to the warm welcome, and the approachable but unintrusive hosting whilst we where there - the experience was excellent. The grounds and facilities are beautifully done, with plenty to keep the children (and adults) entertained! The pizza nights and wine evenings were perfect for socialising and getting to know the other guests. And the local area has a good range of activities and places to visit - all with Edward and Swantje's guidance and support with booking if needed. If you want to explore this area of France, and have a wonderful family break with as much relaxation as is possible with small children then this is for you!
Thijs R
Thijs R
2023-08-07
Verified
Great place to unwind with the kids We had a lovely time at Chateau de Gurat with our two sons (4 & 1,5 years old). The Chateau has everything you need (swimming pool, sand pit, playground, play barn and some farm animals). Our kids loved it , made some new friends and we barely left the grounds.
Oxfordshire_mummy
Oxfordshire_mummy
2023-08-06
Verified
Another great week at Chateau de Gurat It was so good the first time (2022) that we returned, but this time with more family members and between us we occupied two of the Gites. Arriving at Chateau de Gurat felt familiar, like returning to a favourite holiday home and we were greeted by hosts Edward and Swantje like old friends. We soon settled back into the easy pace of life at the Chateau, within minutes the children dispersed to the swimming pool and sandpit and all was well. We enjoyed another fun pizza night and tried a new experience - The Wine Tasting evening where we tasted handpicked French wines alongside delicious charcuterie with the opportunity to purchase the wines we tried. We explored some new places - Saint Aulaye river beach and the animal park Ferme du Ferron both of which were big hits with the children. We dined in the nearby restaurant Les Cluzeaux, which was a big hit with the adults. We also returned to some favourite places - La Taverne restaurant in Aubeterre and the river beach Poltrot. This place really does tick so many boxes for children of varying ages. We travelled with children between the ages of 18 months to almost 7 years and nobody was bored. The hospitality, the setting, the comfortable accommodation and the variety of things to do made for another great week at Chateau de Gurat. There is a charm about the place that draws you back 🙂
Orla M
Orla M
2023-07-13
Verified
A wonderful week at the Chateau de Gurat! We had a wonderful week at Chateau de Gurat! The grounds were absolutely beautiful and our gite was so quaint and immaculately clean. A perfect getaway for families with young children looking to relax while still having things to do. The Chateau is also close to a number of local towns and villages, which were perfect for day trips. Edward and Swantje were so lovely to deal with and made sure we felt welcomed and had everything we needed. We would highly recommend it and hope to visit again. - Orla & Paul (Ireland)
Zoë M
Zoë M
2023-07-12
Verified
Superb french family holiday setting. Highly recommend going. We have just had a fantastic holiday here. The grounds are beautiful and so ideal to keep the children entertained. There is a big and baby pool, a huge sandpit with lots of toys, including a playbarn of toys and books. Outside there is a trampoline, swings, slide as well as chickens, guinea pigs and goats to see. The pizzas and crepe cooked in the onsite pizza oven on Monday night were delicious. The wine tasting evening was a treat for us too. We had a superb adventure out each day to some river beaches and a lake to swim in with some incredible lunches (great recommendations of where to go from the Chateau hosts). French food is delicious! We also had bakery deliveries to the gates of the Chateau as well.
Nicola H
Nicola H
2023-07-10
Verified
Relaxing Family Retreat, perfect for both kids and adults We have recently returned from a wonderful and relaxing stay. Edward and Swantje have created the perfect family retreat if you have young children and they are perfect hosts. They really have thought of everything and we didn't have to bring all that extra luggage you usually need to lug around with young children like baby monitors, pushchairs and booster seats. The gites are so well equipped in every aspect, especially the children's equipment and kitchen. The Chateau itself is beautiful and the grounds perfect for the little ones and safely enclosed so you can actually relax - sandpit, trampoline, swimming pool, play equipment, animals, a tractor and an extremely well stocked and cool play barn. Highlights for us were the welcome hamper, daily morning boulangerie deliveries, the home cooked meals you can order directly ( delicious!), the children all playing together, the chance to have some adult conversation with the wood fired pizza, crepes and wine night, and the wine tasting evening with charcuterie and cheese! The location is beautiful and the hosts have an extensive list and knowledge of places to visit. We visited beautiful medieval french towns and castles and perfect river and lake beaches. There is a large supermarket within a 10 minute drive so you can stock up easily and the hosts can recommend many places to eat. When you have young children, a holiday is just parenting away from home but the Chateau Gurat gives you the chance to actually truly relax a little, decamp with the kids and get a bit of time to yourselves!

Hier is een selectie uit ons gastenboek

“Een heerlijke plek waar je helemaal tot rust kunt komen, zeer kindvriendelijk, de eigenaren zijn zeer hartelijk en behulpzaam. De gîtes zijn van hoge kwaliteit, ruim en mooi ingericht.”

“Alles is verzorgd, perfect om te genieten van het huis, de cultuur van de omgeving en het rustgevende landschap. Kwalitatief goede rust, aardige buren en voortreffelijke vriendelijkheid van de eigenaren. Kinderen kunnen op eigen houtje de omgeving verkennen en dieren zien. Het zwembad, uitstekend. A 10.”

“Een fantastische plek om te verblijven, vooral voor gezinnen. Het is echt goed opgezet voor jonge gezinnen (de kinderen in onze groep varieerden van 1 – 3 jaar oud) en geeft ze echt de vrijheid om rond te rennen op hun eigen. De eigenaren zijn ook ongelooflijk behulpzaam en hadden niet meer kunnen doen om ons te helpen met het terugvinden van paspoorten die we op de een of andere manier onderweg waren kwijtgeraakt!!! Nogmaals bedankt jongens.”

“Eerlijk gezegd de beste vakantie die ik met de kinderen heb gehad. Perfect voor kleuters. Onze jongens vonden het geweldig, wij vonden het geweldig dat ze zich zo vermaakten met al het speelgoed, ik kon zelfs zonnebaden en een (beetje) boek lezen! Fantastisch! We kunnennietwachten om terug te gaan.”

“We hebben zo’n heerlijke vakantie gehad! Het was perfect. I twee boeken gelezen tijdens ons verblijf, Ik kan me de laatste keer dat dat gebeurde niet herinneren! Onze drie meisjes hebben ook zo genoten van de plek. De speeltuin, het zwembad, de zandbak, de dieren …. We hebben allemaal genoten van het heerlijke eten, de pizza-avond en de wijnproefavond. Ik zou deze plek aan iedereen aanraden.”

“Geweldige plek – mooie stijlvolle en ruime gîtes – met heel veel buitenruimte voor de kinderen om rond te rennen. Onze vijfjarige ging met haar nieuwe vriendjes naar de trampoline, voerde de geiten, terroriseerde de cavia’s, enzovoort, en we konden er helemaal zeker van zijn dat ze allemaal veilig waren en plezier hadden, zelfs buiten het zicht. Heerlijk zwembad ook.”

“We zijn er de afgelopen 4 jaar met ons gezin geweest en kunnen ons geen betere plek in Frankrijk voorstellen om onze vakantie door te brengen. Een verborgen juweeltje op het platteland. De huisjes in Gurat bieden alles wat we nodig zouden kunnen hebben en stellen ons in staat om allemaal tot rust te komen en te ontspannen. De kinderen worden uitstekend verzorgd, met veel ruimte om te spelen en te ontdekken in een veilige gezinsvriendelijke omgeving. Vooral het zwembad is favoriet! Le Coin Fleuri is een mooie, comfortabele leefruimte met prachtige originele kenmerken. Het biedt ook wat extra privacy en heeft een heerlijk terras om buiten te eten. Het is afgewerkt met een uitzonderlijke standaard en heeft alles wat je nodig zou kunnen hebben voor een zorgeloze (en stressvrije!) vakantie…”

We hebben een heerlijke week gehad op Château de Gurat, heel erg bedankt voor jullie gastvrijheid! De faciliteiten waren uitstekend voor onze bijna driejarige en baby, en de gîtes waren van een zeer hoge kwaliteit met alle babyvriendelijke extra’s.”

“Het kasteel was geweldig, onze gîte was onberispelijk schoon, de eigenaren zijn zo vriendelijk en erg behulpzaam voor gezinnen. De wijnproeverij en pizza-avonden zijn geweldig en je hebt geen oppas nodig, maar we hebben ook een avondje uit gehad met een oppas, wat echt een traktatie was.”

We hadden een fantastische week, de eigenaren waren geweldig en de kinderen hadden alles wat ze zich konden wensen op het terrein, zo’n geweldige plek om een eerste vakantie als gezin te hebben! Bedankt.”

“Geweldige plek voor een ontspannen vakantie met het gezin. Prachtig terrein. Echt goed opgezet voor kinderen, zelfs voor heel jonge kinderen. Heerlijk groot, diep en schoon zwembad. Avonden voor volwassenen zijn een heerlijke onderbreking. Volwassen gezelschap zonder het terrein te verlaten! Ik zou het ten zeerste aanbevelen. Ruth M

Schitterende plek! We verbleven hier een week met onze twee zonen, ze wilden allebei niet naar huis en hebben gevraagd om terug te gaan sinds we thuis zijn. De eigenaren zorgen voor je van begin tot eind. Heerlijke zelfgemaakte maaltijden als je gewoon wilt blijven en chillen. Er is van alles te doen om de kinderen bezig te houden op het kasteelterrein. De omgeving is gevuld met prachtige stadjes en dorpjes.” Daniel H

“Mooie en vriendelijke plek voor een vakantie met een jong gezin.” Graham N

De eigenaren waren geweldige gastheren en hebben een prachtige omgeving gecreëerd met behoud van het oorspronkelijke karakter van de gebouwen. De kinderen waren vrij om de omgeving te verkennen en ervan te genieten in een kindvriendelijke omgeving. Als je een liefhebber van pizza bent, zul je niet teleurgesteld zijn als de oven wordt opgestart. Als ze in Engeland ook afhaalmaaltijden hadden, zou ik een vaste klant zijn! Tim F

“Super gezinsvakantie! Château de Gurat ligt op een geweldige locatie, omgeven door glooiende landschappen en binnen handbereik van een groot aantal activiteiten. Jardin de Rose biedt gezinsvriendelijke accommodatie, omgeven door een prachtige privétuin. Het zwembad, de speelschuur, de dieren en de spelletjes zorgden allemaal voor een geweldige vakantie. Zeer charmante en attente gastheren, we komen terug!”

“We bezochten Château de Gurat voor het eerst in juli 2014, toen we slechts een week in L’Etable verbleven. We waren smoorverliefd binnen de eerste paar uur. Het terrein en de faciliteiten zijn perfect voor jonge gezinnen, alle Gîtes zijn echt smaakvol ingericht. De Bergerie is ideaal voor de kinderen om samen te komen en in te spelen, en de sociale activiteiten zoals pizza-avond en wijnproeven zijn geweldige manieren om de andere gezinnen en kinderen te leren kennen. Er is genoeg ruimte rond het gemeenschappelijke zwembad en het is altijd schoon en netjes. De eigenaren zijn geweldige gastheren – altijd in de buurt als het nodig is, maar niet opdringerig. Het is heerlijk om ’s avonds bij zonsondergang wijn te drinken bij de zandbak!”

Waar wacht je nog op? Boek je Franse gezinsavontuur bij ons.